New philosophy research grants from SSHRC

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada has posted a list of new Standard Research Grants for 2004. These are the Canadian equivalent of the NEH’s Faculty Fellowships that Brian Leiter mentioned back in February. The SSHRC grants, unfortunately, almost never provide for teaching release–only the most senior people seem to win research time stipends. On the other hand, they last for three years. Success rates for “new scholars” (up to 5 years past the PhD) are 29%, for established scholars they are 50%.

These are the (English-speaking) philosophers winning grants that I could make out from the titles

  • James Robert Brown, University of Toronto, Thought experiments in physics, chemistry and mathematics
  • Conrad G. Brunk and James O. Young, University of Victoria, The ethics of cultural appropriation
  • Ben Caplan, University of Manitoba, Understanding Frege
  • Anjan Chakravartty, University of Toronto, Abstraction, idealization, and model construction in the natural sciences

  • David M. DeVidi, University of Waterloo, Non-constructivist applications of constructive logics

  • Marguerite L. Deslauriers, McGill University; Ali Al-Saji, McGill University; Cressida Heyes, University of Alberta, Gender and philosophical conceptions of sexual difference and of embodiment
  • George di Giovanni, McGill University, A scholarly edition in English, with an extensive study and critico-historical notes, of Hegel’s greater logic

  • Michael Glanzberg, University of Toronto (now UC Davis), The semantics and pragmatics of reference and quantification
  • Michael Hallett, McGill University, Gödel and the foundations of mathematics; Hilbert’s unpublished writings on the foundations of mathematics
  • Tim A. Kenyon, University of Waterloo, Assertion, truth, and relevance
  • Dominic McIver Lopes, The University of British Columbia, The ontology and value of interactive digital art
  • Ausonio Marras, The University of Western Ontario, Multiple realizability and the prospects for psychophysical reduction
  • Mohan P. Matthen, The University of British Columbia, Perception, memory, and time
  • Margaret C. Morrison, University of Toronto, Abstract models and concrete knowledge: the role of emergent phenomena in physics
  • Dario Perinetti, Universitè du Québec à Montréal, Philosophical reflection on history in the enlightenment
  • Victor P. Rodych, The University of Lethbridge, Wittgenstein on meaningfulness and decidability in mathematics and logic
  • Marleen Rozemond, University of Toronto, The unity of consciousness and the metaphysics of the soul
  • Timothy A. Schroeder, University of Manitoba, The normativity of practical reason: a naturalistic account
  • Oliver N. Schulte, Simon Fraser University, The epistemology of strategic interactions and its applications in social modelling and ethics
  • Sonia Sikka, University of Ottawa, Cultural identity from Herder to Heidegger
  • Justin E.H. Smith, Concordia University, Mind-body causation and the problem of trait acquisition in early modern embryology, 1630-1690
  • Joan Steigerwald, York University, Epistemologies of rupture: philosophies of nature in Germany at the turn of the 19th century
  • Sergio Tenenbaum, University of Toronto, Appearances of the good
  • Catherine Wilson, The University of British Columbia, Mechanism and morality
  • Richard Zach, University of Calgary, The history of logical metatheory 1900-1940

NSERC sometimes also funds philosophers, especially if they work in techie fields (neuroscience, linguistics, logic). No new grants to philosophers this year, as far as I can tell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *