CfP: Computability in Europe 2009

NB: History and philosophy of computation explicitly part of the scope. Note also the philosophers on the program committee and the special session on philosophical and mathematical aspects of hypercomputation.

Mathematical Theory and Computational Practice
Heidelberg, Germany
19 – 24 July 2009

Deadline for submissions: 20 JANUARY, 2009

CiE 2009 is the fifth in a series of conferences organised by CiE (Computability in Europe), a European association of mathematicians, logicians, computer scientists, philosophers, physicists and others interested in new developments in computability and their underlying significance for the real world. Previous meetings took place in Amsterdam (2005), Swansea (2006), Siena (2007) and Athens (2008).

TUTORIALS: Pavel Pudlak, Luca Trevisan.

INVITED SPEAKERS: Manindra Agrawal, Jeremy Avigad, Phokion Kolaitis, Peter Koepke, Andrea Sorbi, Vijay Vazirani.

SPECIAL SESSIONS on Algorithmic Randomness (E. Mayordomo, W. Merkle), Computational Model Theory (J. Knight, A. Morozov), Computation in Biological Systems – Theory and Practice (A. Carbone, E. Csuhaj-Varju), Optimization and Approximation (M. Halldorsson, G. Reinelt), Philosophical and Mathematical Aspects of Hypercomputation (J. Ladyman, P. Welch), Relative Computability (R. Downey, A. Soskova)

CiE 2009 has a broad scope and bridges the gap from the theoretical methods of mathematical and meta-mathematical flavour to the applied and industrial questions of computational practice. The conference aims to bring together researchers who want to explore the historical and philosophical aspects of the field.

We particularly invite papers that build bridges between different parts of the research community. Since women are underrepresented in mathematics and computer science, we emphatically encourage submissions by female authors. The Elsevier Foundation is supporting the CiE conference series in the programme “Increasing representation of female researchers in the computability community”. This programme will allow us to fund child-care support, a mentoring system for young female researchers, and also a small number of grants for female researchers, covering their registration fees.

The dates around the submission process are as follows:

Submission Deadline: 20 January 2009
Notification of Authors: 16 March 2009
Deadline for Final Version: 17 April 2009

CiE 2009 conference topics include, but not exclusively:

  • Admissible sets
  • Analog computation
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Automata theory
  • Classical computability and degree structures
  • Computability theoretic aspects of programs
  • Computable analysis and real computation
  • Computable structures and models
  • Computational and proof complexity
  • Computational complexity
  • Computational learning and complexity
  • Concurrency and distributed computation
  • Constructive mathematics
  • Cryptographic complexity
  • Decidability of theories
  • Derandomization
  • Domain theory and computability
  • Dynamical systems and computational models
  • Effective descriptive set theory
  • Finite model theory
  • Formal aspects of program analysis
  • Formal methods
  • Foundations of computer science
  • Games
  • Generalized recursion theory
  • History of computation
  • Hybrid systems
  • Higher type computability
  • Hypercomputational models
  • Infinite time Turing machines
  • Kolmogorov complexity
  • Lambda and combinatory calculi
  • L-systems and membrane computation
  • Mathematical models of emergence
  • Molecular computation
  • Natural computing
  • Neural nets and connectionist models
  • Philosophy of science and computation
  • Physics and computability
  • Probabilistic systems
  • Process algebra
  • Programming language semantics
  • Proof mining
  • Proof theory and computability
  • Quantum computing and complexity
  • Randomness
  • Reducibilities and relative computation
  • Relativistic computation
  • Reverse mathematics
  • Swarm intelligence
  • Type systems and type theory
  • Uncertain reasoning
  • Weak arithmetics and applications

Contributed papers will be selected from submissions received by the PROGRAMME COMMITTEE consisting of:

Klaus Ambos-Spies (Heidelberg, co-chair), Giorgio Ausiello (Rome), Andrej Bauer (Ljubljana), Arnold Beckmann (Swansea), Olivier Bournez (Nancy), Vasco Brattka (Cape Town), Barry Cooper (Leeds), Anuj Dawar (Cambridge), Jacques Duparc (Lausanne), Pascal Hitzler (Karlsruhe), Rosalie Iemhoff (Utrecht), Margarita Korovina (Siegen/Novosibirsk), Hannes Leitgeb (Bristol), Daniel Leivant (Bloomington), Benedikt Loewe (Amsterdam), Giancarlo Mauri (Milan), Elvira Mayordomo (Zaragoza), Wolfgang Merkle (Heidelberg, co-chair), Andrei Morozov (Novosibirsk), Dag Normann (Oslo), Isabel Oitavem (Lisbon), Luke Ong (Oxford), Martin Otto (Darmstadt), Prakash Panangaden (Montreal), Ivan Soskov (Sofia), Viggo Stoltenberg-Hansen (Uppsala), Peter van Emde Boas (Amsterdam), Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht), Philip Welch (Bristol), Richard Zach (Calgary)

The Programme Committee cordially invites all researchers in the area of the conference to submit their papers (in PDF-format, at most 10 pages) for presentation at CiE 2009.

The best of the accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings within the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series of Springer, which will be available at the conference. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their work at the conference. Submitted papers must describe work not previously published, and they must neither be accepted nor under review at a journal or at another conference with refereed proceedings.

All papers need to be prepared in LNCS-style LaTeX. Papers should not exceed 10 pages; full proofs may appear in a technical appendix which will be read at the reviewers’ discretion. The title page must contain: title and authors; physical and e-mail addresses; identification of corresponding author, if not the first author; an abstract of no more than 200 words; a list of keywords.

Submissions authored or co-authored by members of the Programme Committee are not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *